Rolf-Dieter Heuer (b.1948)

Director-General since January 2009

CERN's current Director-General was a particle-detector systematist and physics professor before he took on the job

Robert Aymar (b.1936)

Director-General from January 2004 to December 2008

French ex-chairman of the European Fusion Technology Steering Committee, who succeeded Luciano Maiani as Director-General of CERN in January 2004

Luciano Maiani (b. 1941)

Director-General from January 1999 to December 2003

Following a distinguished career in Italian physics, Maiani became CERN Director-General in January 1999

Christopher Llewellyn Smith (b.1942)

Director-General from January 1994 to January 1999

Ex-chairman of the CERN Scientific Policy Committee who succeeded Carlo Rubbia as Director-General of CERN in 1994

Carlo Rubbia (b.1934)

Director-General from January 1989 to January 1994

The four LEP experiments produced their first scientific results under this Nobel-prize winner's mandate


You are here