Rolf-Dieter Heuer (b.1948)

- present

CERN's current Director-General was a particle-detector systematist and physics professor before he took on the job

Robert Aymar (b.1936)

Director-General from janvier 2004 to décembre 2008

French ex-chairman of the European Fusion Technology Steering Committee, who succeeded Luciano Maiani as Director-General of CERN in January 2004

Luciano Maiani (b. 1941)

Director-General from janvier 1999 to décembre 2003

Following a distinguished career in Italian physics, Maiani became CERN Director-General in January 1999

Christopher Llewellyn Smith (b.1942)

Director-General from janvier 1994 to janvier 1999

Ex-chairman of the CERN Scientific Policy Committee who succeeded Carlo Rubbia as Director-General of CERN in 1994

Carlo Rubbia (b.1934)

Director-General from janvier 1989 to janvier 1994

The four LEP experiments produced their first scientific results under this Nobel-prize winner's mandate

Herwig Franz Schopper (b.1924)

Director-General from janvier 1981 to janvier 1989

A research associate at CERN whose mandate saw the construction of the Large Electron-Positron Collider, and two Nobel prizes for CERN physicists

Léon Charles Van Hove (1924-1990)

Director-General from janvier 1976 to décembre 1980

Belgian physicist who oversaw proposals for the Large Electron-Positron collider

Willibald Karl Jentschke (1911-2002)

Director-General from janvier 1971 to décembre 1975

Ex-director of the Hamburg Institute for Physics who led CERN Laboratory I in Meyrin, Switzerland while John Adams directed CERN Laboratory II in Prévessin

Bernard Paul Gregory (1919-1977)

Director-General from janvier 1966 to décembre 1970

French experimental physicist who oversaw the construction of the Intersecting Storage rings and the beginnings of the 300 GeV Proton Synchrotron

Victor Frederik Weisskopf (1908-2002)

Director-General from août 1961 to janvier 1966

Austrian professor who joined CERN's Theoretical Studies Division in 1957, and was elected Director-General in August 1961

John Bertram Adams (1920-1984)

Director-General from mai 1960 to juillet 1961

Head of the 300 GeV project who later served as Director-General for CERN Laboratory II

Cornelis Jan Bakker (1904-1960)

Director-General from septembre 1955 to avril 1960

One of eight experts who drew up the plans for CERN, Bakker later directed the synchrocylcotron design group

Felix Bloch (1905-1983)

Director-General from octobre 1954 to août 1955

CERN's first Director-General was awarded the Nobel prize for his work on nuclear induction

Edoardo Amaldi (1908-1989)

Secretary-General from mai 1952 to octobre 1954

CERN pioneer who played a leading role in the study and preparation of the Intersecting Storage Rings and the 300 GeV Super Proton Synchrotron

You are here